Fort Street High School

Faber est suae quisque fortunae

Telephone02 8585 1600

2020 HSC Results

student accepting his award

Fort Street’s outstanding reputation for academic excellence is reflected in the consistently high results that students achieve in the Higher School Certificate. Ninety-five percent of students proceed from school immediately to university studies with 80% of the year 12 cohort achieving an ATAR in the 90's. Our highest achievers are recognised and celebrated at Speech Day each year.

Our students continue as individuals and in groups to be outstanding academic achievers. In 2020 twenty four Fortians featured on the HSC Top All-rounders List.

2020 Top All Rounders

This list acknowledges students who achieved in the highest performance band in 10 or more units in the HSC.

Luca Charlier Julian Fu James Nguyen
Justin Cheung Bridget Gard Sam Nguyen
Max Collingwood Cristina Koprinski Amelie Skelton
Eszter Coombs Anson Lee Tom Stevens
Edmund Derwent Olive Lenehan Choo Lara Vance
Cheylon Devine Nicole Liu Jaden White
Alexander Epps Emily Miers Shengya Yang
Julius Faith Christine Nguyen Jasmin Young

First in Course

In 2020 the following students achieved first place in course Higher School Certificate:

Jack Coleman Mathematics Advanced 1st
Eszter Coombs English Extension 2 1st

* Accelerated

Top Achievers in Course

The top achievers in Course list indicates the students who achieved in the top 5, 10 or 20 places (depending on overall size) for each HSC course.

Eszter Coombs English Extenstion 1 4th
Julius Faith German Continuers 3rd
Emily Grimes German Continuers 4th
Emily Grimes German Extension 5th
Jessica Huang Chinese in Context 3rd
Emily Miers Legal Studies 11th
Shengya Yang Mathematics Extension 1 17th

HSC Showcases

Each year the Board of Studies showcases outstanding student work in a series of exhibitions and showcases. In 2016 the nominated & selected Fortians were:

ArtExpress – Visual Arts

Raphael Taib Sculpture The Armory
Alexander Wang Time Based Forms The Armory
Cheylon Devine Collection of Works Nomination
Jennifer Shu Drawing Nomination

Encore – Music

Emily Miers Performance Nominated
Max Tosello Performance Nominated
Jamie Kwon Performance Nominated
Alistar MacDonald Composition Nominated
Jaden White Composition & Performance Nominated
Alexander Epps Performance Nominated


Tom Stevens  Script Nominated & Selected